Stygian by Santino Hassell

M/M Romance

This is my first book ever by Santino Hassell, and I chose Stygian because I’m from Tennessee and it takes place in the south.  I’d never even heard of Hassell, but Twitter suggested that I follow him, so I did, which led to me purchasing this novel.  I’m so glad that I did!  I only recently started reading Stygian, but I love how Hassell paints enough detail in the scene for you to have a picture of the setting in your head without overwhelming you with descriptions.  The characters are fleshed out well, and I’m enjoying the story line so far.  The plot follows an indie band spending the summer in an abandoned mansion in Louisiana.

Coming Home by Alexa Land

M/M Romance

This is a continuation of Alexa Land’s First and Forever Series.  I haven’t read all of the books in this series, but everyone that I’ve read, I’ve enjoyed.  I haven’t had any issues picking up the story lines and character dynamics from the books that I missed, either.  Every book in this series has an excellent blend of comedy and drama, and this one is no different.  The plot follows Chance, a prostitute with a heart of gold, who has made appearances in some of the other stories.

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown

Mystery/Action/Suspense

I know.  I know.  I’m way behind the times, but I’m finally getting around to reading the third book in the Robert Langdon series.  I loved Angels & Demons and The Da Vinci Code, and this one is along the same vein except it takes place in Washington D.C.  It’s a well-written, enjoyable book, but for some reason, I don’t like it quite as much as the first two novels in the series.

Love is All Around by Rae Davies

M/F Romance

I got this as a freebie, and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with it.  It’s a decent, basic romance story.  It’s pretty well-written, the characters are likable, and there aren’t any blatant plot holes, but nothing really stood out about it for me, personally.  I think I’ve read WAY too many romance novels.  If it’s still free, you should give it a read.

 

