I write LGBTQ Romance because it’s challenging and because I enjoy it.  I’m not under the impression that a woman writing m/m romance is doing anything for the cause for equality.  It’s not.  This is not my voice.  This is not my life.  This is not my reality.  I write what I want to write, and I read what I want to read, and I don’t feel guilty about it.  BUT (and that’s a big old but) it is a HUGE problem that VERY often minority (racial, sexual orientation, ethnic, etc…) authors who are telling their own stories and speaking in their own voice and from their own experiences get ignored in favor of someone who looks and thinks and sounds more like you.  This IS their voice.  This IS their life.  This IS their reality.  And who better to write and convey those stories than the people who are living them?  So…please keep reading my books because I love to write and sell them, but recognize that I am telling another person’s story (in the figurative sense) and that there are a lot of authors out there who are much better qualified to tell these tales.

