So, I started a Twitter account a few weeks ago.  I didn’t join to promote my books or to solicit anyone, so if you follow me, don’t worry about being bombarded with constant Me Me Me advertising.  I will make announcements concerning release dates, and I try to tweet the occasional teaser, but mainly I’m just posting about my life, my obsession with fashion, and the random thoughts that fill my head.  Honestly, I joined Twitter because I realized that aside from the occasional blog post, I’ve basically been writing on my own deserted island.  No one but me sees any of my books from start to finish until it’s live on Amazon and available for purchase.  I have a lot of support for my writing, but I thought that Twitter might be a welcome place to form connections with readers and other authors, people who can offer advice and encouragement, and I guess it has been.  It’s certainly been an interesting experience.  I’ve used Facebook for the last seven years, so I just assumed it would be the same format.  It isn’t.  Not at all.  Every time I open up my app, it feels like I’m wandering into a roomful of strangers, listening in on their conversations, and putting in my own two cents whenever I feel like it.  Being a Southerner who can carry on a full conversation with the checkout girl at the grocery store or some random guy in the waiting room at the dentist’s office, I actually feel pretty comfortable talking to strangers.  And interacting with people who are outsiders from your daily life offers a certain level of anonymity.  Everyone on Facebook knows me personally, so I always have to consider how my comments will effect my daily life.  I would never say anything mean or hurtful on Twitter (that’s just rude and spiteful), but I do feel that it gives me the opportunity to be less filtered.  I’m not sure yet if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but it’s fun.  So, if you’re bored with Facebook, and you want to try out a new platform, I recommend giving Twitter a try.  (Just keep in mind that it can be very addictive.)  And give me a follow if you want to find out more about me.

Happy reading y’all!

